Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Cage The Elephant, Portugal. The Man in New York, NY (05/17/16)

Don’t ever expect to stand around at a Cage The Elephant show. They sure won’t. “That guy is going to be completely spent by the time this show is over,” I thought to myself as I watched lead singer Matthew Shultz power through the lines of “Cry Baby” in frenetic and sometimes acrobatic fashion. The studio version of the 2105 album, Tell Me I’m Pretty, is a little bit calmer. The live version is turned up to the max, welcoming you to a light where you will get your money’s worth. If you want to
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: The Kills in New York, NY (05/17/16)

By the looks of the packed Music Hall of Williamsburg, the five-year absence of The Kills did not go unnoticed. For that venue, where bands can be virtually on top of the front row, this was a great night for a gritty rock show. As a constant supporter of The White Stripes, it’s impressive to see a two-person ensemble release so much fury. (Coincidentally, The Kills’ Alison Mosshart plays with Jack White in The Dead Weather). If you were looking for a morsel of space, it was nowhere to be found—
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Underoath in New York, NY (04/15/16)

When you watched the 2015 documentary Tired Violence it felt like one of those cliffhanger endings to the second movie in a trilogy. People within bands change, priorities turn as families grow, and life on the road gets harder. I happened to attend one of the Underoath farewell shows in 2013 at Union Transfer in Philadelphia. There was a sense of melancholy, matched with a feeling of mutual respect between the fans and the band who had made an endearing imprint in the metalcore scene. When the
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Hoodie Allen in New York, NY (03/22/16)

Due to several recommendations from friends, I checked out a Hoodie Allen show and was not disappointed. Allen is the perfect example of someone who went full-force after their dream. After all, he quit Google in order to pursue his passion for music on a full-time basis. It takes a lot of work and dedication to make a dent in the music world as an independent artist, but impressively, Allen’s first two albums have both made considerable noise on the U.S. album charts. On March 22 at Webster Ha
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Set It Off, Tonight Alive, and The Ready Set In New York, NY (03/05/16)

Oh, the power of positivity in music. It’s undeniable. It’s one of the main reasons why we make music a mainstay in our modern day routines. You can’t deny when you hear your favorite part of your song – the song you hold on to the most. You either dance like nobody is watching or belt out the lyrics at the top of your lungs. We all fight for something one way or another – whether it be for a person, an idea, or a dream. On this particular night, at Irving Plaza in New York, the lead singers of
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Fall Out Boy, Awolnation, and PVRIS in New York, NY (03/04/16)

“Did you check everything? Are your batteries fully charged? Are your lenses clean? Seriously, check everything!” To say I gain a little OCD before shooting shows at Madison Square Garden is an understatement. It’s not that I don’t triple-check things to begin with, but this is the most famous arena in the world. You want to have all your ducks in a row. I had waited to take pictures of Fall Out Boy for a long time. Chalk it up to bad timing – either timing was not initially right or I had been
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Sun|Drones in New York, NY (03/01/16)

New York is an epicenter for indie rock. If you walk right down Ludlow Street in Manhattan, you will be surrounded by a number of bars housing some of the most intimate shows in the city. On this particular night, Pianos NYC was packed to the max. I had gotten in line where some people were turned away, perhaps forgetting to call ahead. Looking at my Twitter feed a couple hours earlier, the bar had mentioned that Sun|Drones‘ first New York show was on the verge of selling out. How about that for
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Muse in Newark, New Jersey (01/29/16)

Under The Gun Review sent photographer MJ Rawls to The Prudential Center in NJ to shoot Muse on their ‘Drones’ tour. There are some concerts that feel like your typical night out. You know, the pause, the looking down at your phone, and the waiting for the band to play that favorite song for you to loosen up to. Hopefully a paying customer is there to see more than one song. A little over two years ago, I got to see Muse on their ‘2nd Law’ tour and I was hooked into the grandiose style of the s
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Jess Glynne in New York City (01/20/16)

Under The Gun Review sent photographer MJ Rawls to Webster Hall in NYC to shoot Jess Glynne on her ‘I Cry When I Laugh’ Tour. Have you ever been in the car and heard a song so catchy, you couldn’t get your phone out fast enough to find out what it was? (Not while driving, of course). That song for me was “Hold My Hand” by Jess Glynne. With that, I realized I was already acquainted with the London, England-born singer through the 2014 track by Clean Bandit, “Rather Be.” Both of these songs are r
Under the Gun Review

UTG PHOTOS: Health in New York City (11/21/15)

Under The Gun Review sent photographer MJ Rawls to The Music Hall In Williamsburg in NYC to shoot Health on their ‘Death Magic’ tour. “Whoa, what the hell did I just watch?” There aren’t a lot of shows that grab you by the collar and never let go. The thing is, early on in the night at The Music Hall In Williamsburg, there was a calm like the last gasp of a person who gets away from a killer in a horror movie. Everything seemed like it was going to be a typical night, but a Health show is far f
Load More Articles